Clear all

[Sticky] Reconstruction Project - March 25th, 1997 Build

5 Posts
1 Users
0 Likes
(@michael2001)
Member Admin
Topic starter  

I've decided that my first really big modding project is going to be reconstructing what SaGa Frontier could have looked like on March 25th, 1997, AKA around when the FFTactics demo was completed. To my knowledge, this is the first time that this kind of project has been attempted for SaGa Frontier. 

The gist of my plan is to move everything from the demo into release, get that T260 cutscene stuff fully operational, get the Diva fight looking like what it could've been (minus fighting Joker, of course), and get all the prototype tables, names, etc. from demo into release (executable, BTL_DATA.BIN, EVENT.BIN, BATTLE.OUT, etc.). I do plan on making a patch file for this once I get everything imported and working. It'll take a while, though, as I'm doing things I've never done before and I'm modifying the size of the ROM itself with this project, which is a whole different beast that I've avoided up until now. 

You can view a public log of everything I'm doing here: https://docs.google.com/document/d/158cluxQh8GrsMg8B9yk4_2RBT9PF0ts8/edit?usp=sharing&ouid=103929640379420088539&rtpof=true&sd=true

This post will also act as a log of sorts as well as a feedback form, so be sure to share this around with everyone who might be even a little bit interested in a project like this. Also, share this with people who could be willing to help; this will take me quite a while to do on my own, so having people to help figure things out with me would be a huge help. For example, how to change the idle coordinates of the camera in a battle arena.

(@michael2001)
Member Admin
Topic starter  

Oh and in case you're wondering, I currently have no plans on porting this to remaster. Too much work to be done to get it even moderately functional there

ReplyQuote
(@michael2001)
Member Admin
Topic starter